Author Topic: Uni Student Ticket Help:Turning Right onto a residential street off Hamilton  (Read 860 times)

January 18, 2016, 11:33 AM #0

JessyMrozowski Offline

• Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Neon SRT4
  • Reputation Power: 2
  • JessyMrozowski has no influence.
As the subject line says, I'm a university student who recently received a ticket for turning right Off of Hamilton onto Valley View Pl. I always take that route to get to school now since the bridge on Ness is closed down for construction. I was unaware that they just recently (Jan 16-18) erected a sign saying I couldn't turn there anymore, and just kind of drove on through by habit. Was immediately pulled over along with a handful of other drivers who take the same route.

What are my best options for fighting or at least getting the ticket reduced? I feel as if $210 is a little hefty for such a small thing. this is all new to me.

photo for reference of location
Last Edit: January 18, 2016, 11:36 AM by JessyMrozowski

Top Tier Imports

January 18, 2016, 11:37 AM #1

JessyMrozowski Offline

Reading this [ http://www.gov.mb.ca/justice/fines/faq.html#8 ] a bit, I have the option to plead guilty with explanation which seems like the best option so far. how would i approach this or come up with an explanation ?

January 18, 2016, 12:17 PM #2

dano Offline

• Vehicle: 2013 Nissan Leaf SL
      • Reputation Power: 88
      • dano is a force to reckon with.dano is a force to reckon with.dano is a force to reckon with.dano is a force to reckon with.dano is a force to reckon with.dano is a force to reckon with.dano is a force to reckon with.dano is a force to reckon with.
      A couple of other due diligences: check the back of the sign for a sticker indicating when the sign was erected, and ask for the city's records for when it was erected and if / when any lead time was provided.