Author Topic: Meet "Good Peanut Butter II", my Mk6 GTI  (Read 420 times)

January 01, 2018, 06:07 PM #0

DualClutchDan Offline

• Vehicle: 2012 Volkswagen GTI
  • Reputation Power: 3
  • DualClutchDan has no influence.
Hey everyone, thought I would try my hand at a car journal! I've never done one before, hopefully this one goes well.

The car: 2012 Volkswagen GTI, aka "Mk6" generation to those familiar with VW.  Good Peanut Butter sports four doors and Candy White color.  The car has a 2.0L I4 TSI engine (~200 HP and ~207 lb/ft on stock tune, I believe) with 6-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission.

Current mod list (will update this section as new mods come into being):
3" turboback exhaust, consisting of Unitronic 3" downpipe with 200 cell cat mated to Magnaflow catback with 4" rolled edge tips (September '17) 
Michelin Pilot Super Sport summer tires (June '17)
Red rear GTI badge (April '17)
APR carbonio CAI (Stage I and II) (February '17)
034 motorsport dog bone mount insert (February '17)
DSG paddle shifter extensions (November '16)
VW Sima winter wheels acquired (October '16)
Euro LED tail lights (October '16)
Mk5 lower grille red stripe (August '16)

The story: 

My first car was a Mk4 Golf (2003), purchased in 2013.  This car was really good to me for about three years, and I really liked the way the Golf platform felt to drive.  However, I knew it was about time to upgrade, as I had started to nickel and dime myself to keep this thirteen-year-old car on the road.